Isla Gealach

How old are you?
29 …. for 1 more day. :’/ I turn 30 on Wednesday.

Where do you live or where are you from?
I live in Scotland. I am originally American, but I’ve lived here most of my life

Care to give your personal background? Married, single, partnered, kids, etc.
I have a daughter! She’s 6. I have 2 cats – does that answer the married question? :) (I’m divorced lol)

When did you join SL and why?
I joined SL in 2006. I was a housewife, I had a newborn, and a surprising amount of time to waste. I miss those days. I saw a segment on Good Morning America and thought it looked interesting.

Do you have a significant other/family in SL?
I do. :) Kaz is very special to me. He’s the best friend, partner, and business partner I could ever ask for.

What do you do in SL?
I create furniture (mostly) though I do build houses, and more recently custom sim design. I own a store called Cheeky Pea. I also own The Nest shopping sim, The Pea, and I’ve had a few hands in some events.

Describe your style in SL. Does it differ much from your RL? How?
As for clothes… not really. I wear jeans, tops, and mostly walk around barefoot in RL too. :D Furniture style is more I make what I want to own in RL.

Do you have a home/workspace in SL?
Can you take some pics of them and show us? I have a full homestead that I own to work on. I live there with Kaz (my partner) and my friend Anna. An entire sim… and we work 2000m in the air on a giant grid.  It’s not very exciting!   

How did you get into designing?
I wanted a chair and was outraged at the cost of it and the prim count. For what it was I thought it could definitely have been much less. I asked a good friend who I knew created furniture to show me what to do to make a chair. He did, he told me to sell it, and then my store started.

You have made some really fantastic mesh items/builds. Was this difficult to learn? Any advice for those wanting to learn it?
It requires the ability to make a lot of mistakes. It’s not something I picked up overnight, for sure. I started with sculpts and moved on to mesh this year. Tutorials and practice every. single. day. Don’t stop. You WILL forget crap. Even if it’s just to open up your programme and make a horrible boxy thing, and end. Keep going. Also, you will always suck when you look back 3 months down the line. You will likely hate everything you make 2 weeks later when you realise you could have done this… or this, or this…. Just keep working. And don’t stop learning.

What was the first thing you created? Will you share it with us? (link, pic, etc)
It’s really awful. It’s pretty embarrassing. http://cl.ly/image/3s312n3e0I3k

What have you created that you are most proud of?
The Cinema sim. It’s not the most detailed, or the most technically skilled item I’ve made, but the sheer scale of it, the amount of work, the ideas behind it. It’s definitely something I’m proud of.   

How did you come up with the name Cheeky Pea?
My daughter had a little round face when she was a baby and we used to call her a Pea. She was always jabbering away at us telling us off so we used to say she was a cheeky pea. When I was trying to think of store names I really couldn’t decide. I thought I’d use it as a place holder until I came up with something better. Sort of like my product boxes… oops.

What is the silliest/craziest thing you’ve done in SL?
I feel like it was when I bought my first sim. It scared the crap out of me! It turned out to be a brilliant idea, but at the time I thought it was crazy.

What would you like to do in SL that you’ve never tried?
Make clothes. I just want to give it a try. I think I would probably be terrible at it. But I’d like to try.

When you’re sitting at your computer playing SL, what do you usually wear? Describe your workspace.
I’m usually wearing a shirt and jeans, or yoga pants and a tshirt. I usually work at night because I have far too many distractions in the day time so it’s whatever you would wear to lounge around at night time. I always have coffee and usually quite a few assorted bits of stuff around me. 2 monitors, 2 computers, a wacom tablet and my mouse and keyboard. I have a teal deer figure that lives on my desk too.

Has anyone in SL inspired you? Who and in what way?
Kaz. He’s made me pay attention to the details and the little things that bring something to life.

What is something that not a lot of people know about you but you wish more people could know?
I’m American. People love to call me out about debating living in America because I couldn’t understand it as I live in Europe. Nope. I’m actually American! lol I’ve lived there just as much as I’ve lived here.

Do you have any hobbies? What do you like to do when you aren’t in SL?
I love to travel. I travel a lot. I have been to Turkey, America, Ireland, and quite a few places around the UK all in the last 12 months. I have 3 more holidays away planned in the next 6 months too. I get itchy feet pretty badly and I just have to go. I read a lot too.

If Hollywood made a movie about your life, whom would you like to see play the lead role as you?
Oh gosh. I have no idea. Anyone who knows me would laugh like hell at this question because I have seen about 10 movies my entire life. I am not a big fan of movies at all.

What would you like to be doing in 5 years? 10? 15?
I’d love to branch out and do more commercial work. Get away from strictly SL things.

What things would you try if you had no fear?
I would love to go mountain climbing. I’m not great with heights though.

If you left SL today, how would you like to be remembered?
As someone who made cute furniture. That’s about it.

Is there anything else you’d like us to know?
I am terrible about keeping in touch with people. I start working and look up and it’s Tuesday. I think half my friends list thinks I’m anti-social and the other half thinks I’m mean!

We asked Plurkers for additional questions and here they are!

from Strawberry Singh: Where does she get her ideas for the gorgeous items she makes? And did she learn mesh all on her own or does she have any formal training?
Ideas…it just depends on what I’m making.  Some things are inspired from blogs, from RL, from tumblr, from pinterest, and some come totally from my head.  As for learning…100% self-taught.  I’ve never once taken a class in polygon modeling (mesh).

from Siobhin Shippe:  What is her favourite Item she has ever made?

The Calla Desk. I want one in RL. :D

from Ohna:  Since you started making mesh, would you ever go back to making any non mesh items? Just curious.
No way! lol Mesh is not only much more versatile, it’s easier to do well. It’s cleaner, you never have to make do because the geometry won’t work a certain way in SL. The only limit is prim count. I LOVE mesh! I would never go back to sculpts.

Isla’s Flickr

Cheeky Pea on Marketplace

Cheeky Pea Plurk

5 thoughts on “Isla Gealach

  1. Wow, love this blog =) It’s original and you found a good way to show it , Congrats :)
    I’m not enough “famous” but maybe one day … lol
    I can suggest designers i love to appear in this blog ? Tea Xofan, Nevery lorakeet and Aliza Karu are the kindest designers in sl for me ^^
    Good work !
    Loute Diesel

Leave a Reply

